Tags

, , , , , ,

Life is constantly changing. Not that long ago, a major politician ran on the platform of change, but in reality Change is inevitable and one of the only things in life that we can count on.  The thing about life and change that maters is can we work with and mold that inevitable change to make our lives better and the whole of humanity.

If you have read my blogs for any amount of time, you will remember that my wife and I love to thrift, antique, and create craft and art things from items we find (see my Etsy). More than just a fun way of saving money and being creative, I think in our increasingly disposable culture it is imperative that we make the best use of what we have been given by God. I am sure that you have noticed how things are just not made well at all anymore. T.V.s are only made to last for three to five years, which is a far cry from ones  made in the 1950s that still function! We are still so enamored by new that we no longer appreciate the sturdy and enduring around us, can we afford to let that happen?

image

I refuse to let things be tossed aside and forgotten, even well worn books can be repurposed for a new life! I took this group of forgotten books and anchored them to together to form the base for a new book lamp.

image

 

I installed a ceramic socket and repurposed an old record player’s power cord to turn this stack of books into a functioning  lamp.

image To see more of this lamp and my other creations visit my etsy spot here. If you would like to make your own book lamp, message me and I will share what I know.

-Daniel.  P.s. Find me on Instagram @vintageseven1983 and twitter @vintageseven