Tags

, , , , , , ,

Mankind is not likely to salvage civilization unless he can evolve a system of good and evil which is independent of heaven and hell.- George Orwell

I believe that many of the thinkers of our day including many of the so-called theologians live by the above credo. Wouldn’t it be nice if there was no Heaven, no Hell? Sounds very much like John Lennon’s vision of religion. So much of theology is up for grabs in our time; especially the unpleasant topics. I wonder why theology is up to our interpretation, yet math and science is not? If I decided that I did not want 2+2 to = 4 any more, does that change the fact that it still equals 4? I hate math with all of my heart, but I can appreciate the absolutes with which it measures the world.  I find many forms of math to be way beyond me, but because I don’t grasp them does not mean they are not true.  In my last blog, I asked you to watch the clip of a debate between Rob Bell and Adrian Warnock.  In that video clip, Rob Bell asks if someone that rejects God at 17 years old and dies would then spend 17,000,000 years in Hell.  It seems to Rob that a God who would let that be, could not be love.  In truth, God is both equally LOVE and SOVEREIGNTY!  God does not want any man, woman, or child on the face of the planet to end up in Hell; the Bible over and over states that the call of redemption goes out to all people!

The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance. 2 Peter 3:9

Many like Bell believe that a God who would send a person to Hell forever and ever is an unjust God; the fact is that God is Holy and even though He throws the unholy into Hell, it is a man’s own pride that sends him to a Godless eternity!

Jesus spoke often to the religious about their future in Hell, because many of the religious leaders of His time, just like now, live in pride and self-righteousness! The unchurched have no false pretense, they know that they do not have God. Those truly seeking a relationship with Christ will find it; the religious will have to unload their self-righteousness to make it to Heaven.

“If we have the freedom to choose these things now, that Jesus came to offer us and show us, then I assume that when you die, you can continue to choose these realities because love cannot co-opt the human heart’s ability to decide,” Bell said. “But after you die, we are firmly in the realm of speculation.”

Rob Bell is willing to let eternity be in the realm of speculation? The Bible is very clear about eternity; and when an unbeliever reads the Bible and then hears Bell, they will simply be turned off to the gospel completely! Just because we find some of the scriptures hard to understand or unpleasant doesn’t change their truth! In my next post I want to examine our concepts on the topic of Heaven.
danieldunlop
