Tags

, , , , ,

I first started this post some months back and never got much farther than a working title, but as of late I have a great reason to use the above title. My series Build-a-Jesus Workshop and the sub series Shut The Hell Up have been immensely┬ápopular and have both sparked some great discussion! I have done more research than I would normally do regarding my Hell blogs, because I believe the topic deserves the utmost care and thoughtfulness. In my research I have come to the conclusion that many of the modern cutting-edge theologians of our day are not Biblical theologians, but rather ‘religious theologians’ because many of them (Rob Bell, N.T. Wright and Marcus Borg ect.) take what we find in the scriptures and twist and manipulate it to the point that it is almost un-reconizable as scripture.

The Bible is not a religious book, Christianity is not a religion, when the Bible becomes ‘Our Holy Book’ rather than ‘The Holy Book; we cease following Christ. Jesus was very clear your either with me or against me; you cannot be religious and following Jesus.

Religion is our attempt to follow God, Jesus’ way is His pursuit of us! C.S. Lewis said:

“There are only two kinds of people in the end: those who say to God, “Thy will be done,” and those to whom God says, in the end, “Thy will be done.” All that are in Hell, choose it. Without that self-choice there could be no Hell. No soul that seriously and constantly desires joy will ever miss it. Those who seek find. Those who knock it is opened. ” God puts in each of our hearts a desire to know Him, when we try to get to Him apart from what the scriptures say we are building our own religion!

I have worked relentlessly on my next post on Hell, but as of yet I still am not satisfied. I am writing my posts not to argue with critics or try to one up someone in a debate, but in hopes that people will step back and consider what the Bible really says!

People like Rob Bell have a lot of sway in media and Christianity and even in the un-churched world; I want people to know what God says before false teachers take them into the world of religion.

stay tuned for the next installment of SHUT THE HELL UP coming this weekend!

danieldunlop

