Tags

, , , , , , ,

I Thess. 5:16-18) Rejoice always, 17(B) pray without ceasing, 18(C) give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Its has been a very long time since I’ve written on this blog and I’m sorry for the wait! I think though that you will find from reading the next few posts that the wait will be well worth it. I am working on a video blog companion to go with a new series titled In the Ruins of Christianity. Today’s post is regarding the spirit of pray with which according to The Apostle Paul Christians are to live.

There are few topics in religion and faith that are more hotly debated than that of prayer. The above passage in first Thessalonians is often hotly debated itself and well as widely mis-understood. I have heard many different interpretations of what that phrase ‘Pray without ceasing’ means found in verse 17. Some interpretations that I have heard are that we are to be in a spirit of prayer at all times, or continently interacting with God is small prayers throughout the day, or to set time apart to pray throughout the hours of the day. Though I believe that interpreting pray in many different ways is completely valid, I have had a bit of a breakthrough in my own faith, in my own prayer time.

For me to ‘pray without  ceasing’ means that I need to approach my day and each situation with prayer. Recently, I had an altercation with a dear friend of mine that could have simple been avoided by me stepping into the situation praying and asking God to lead my speech and actions. Whether your day includes major decisions to be made or just simple interactions with others, whether you’ll lead thousands in your daily life or spend your time by yourself; you have to listen to God in each movement  and moment of your day.

I have not learned quite what this means in my life, yet I am thankful that God is using His word in a profound and real way that is alive and relevant for my daily life.

